UPDATE: Eminem, 'NSYNC Lead Video Music Awards Nominees

After slamming them on his hit "The Real Slim Shady," Eminem found himself alongside the men of 'NSYNC at the head of the pack when the nominees for the 2000 MTV Video Music Awards were announced on Tuesday.

Em and 'NSYNC each grabbed six nominations and will square off against each other for Video Of The Year and the Viewer's Choice Award. Em's "The Real Slim Shady" also earned nominations for Best Male Video, Best Rap Video, Best Direction In A Video, and Best Editing In A Video. Meanwhile, 'NSYNC's "Bye, Bye, Bye" also grabbed nods for Best Group Video, Best Dance Video, Best Pop Video, and Best Choreography In A Video.

'NSYNC joined "Total Request Live" host Carson Daly and the hosts of the the hosts of the 2000 VMAs, Shawn and Marlon Wayans (the writers and stars of "Scary Movie"), in MTV's Times Square studios to announce this year's nominees on Tuesday morning. 'NSYNC, the assorted Wayanses, and a host of others will be on hand when the 2000 VMAs are handed out on September 7 at New York's Radio City Music Hall.

Daly and company also announced that 'NSYNC and Rage Against The Machine will perform at this year's VMAs.

"This has been like a second home to us this year," 'NSYNC's Lance Bass told the press of MTV and the high-profile role the group will play in this year's VMAs.

Em and 'NSYNC will duke it out with Blink-182's "All The Small Things" D'Angelo's "Untitled (How Does It Feel)," and the Red Hot Chili Peppers' "Californication" for the night's big prize, Video Of The Year.

The Chili Peppers will go into the 2000 VMAs near the front of the pack as well, joining Metallica and Sisqo among the artists with five nominations apiece. In addition to Video Of The Year, the Chili Peppers will also vie for Best Group Video, Best Direction In A Video, Best Special Effects In A Video, and Best Art Direction In A Video. Metallica's "I Disappear" will be up for Best Rock Video, Best Video From A Film, Best Special Effects In A Video, Best Editing In A Video, and Best Cinematography In A Video, while Sisqo's "Thong Song" will compete for Best Hip-Hop Video, Best Dance Video, Best New Artist In A Video, Best Video From A Film, and Viewer's Choice.

In addition to Sisqo, Em, and 'NSYNC, viewers can also get behind Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera in choosing this year's Viewer's Choice winner.

Britney and Christina both wound up with four nominations apiece, as did Macy Gray and D'Angelo. The nominees list also showers much love on Blink-182, Lauryn Hill, Aaliyah, Destiny's Child, and Supergrass, all of whom earned three nods.

Oddsmakers probably wouldn't have counted on singer-songwriter-critical darling Aimee Mann grabbing as many nominations as Limp Bizkit and Kid Rock, but those acts join Filter, Foo Fighters, Toni Braxton, Jennifer Lopez, Ricky Martin, R.E.M., Kid Rock, and Björk in the field of artists who earned two nods apiece.

Jay-Z, Blaque, Blur, Creed, DMX, Dr. Dre, Madonna, Brian McKnight, Alanis Morissette, Korn, Pink, Rage Against The Machine, Stone Temple Pilots, Nine Inch Nails, Moby, Juvenile, and Papa Roach all grabbed one nomination apiece.

The show marks the Wayans brothers' first stab at hosting the VMAs and finds the duo facing the daunting task of following Chris Rock, who hosted the '97 and '99 VMAs. "Thanks for the pressure," Marlon Wayans joked when asked about assuming host duties from Rock.

The Wayans brothers can no doubt take some comfort in the fact that they are on a major roll, with "Scary Movie" taking in well over $100 million in less than three weeks in theaters.

"This is better than the summer I lost my virginity in the projects stairwell to the fat girl," Marlon noted.